Show All Answers
Yes, if your renewal is for this month or next month, access the Texas Online website. You must have a major credit card and you will reference your driver's license and proof of insurance to use the online service. The service provider charges $3 to use a credit card.
For information on Disabled Parking Placards, visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles website.
The titled owner should bring the damaged sticker (not applicable if the sticker was lost), the last registration receipt, driver's license and complete the Application for Replacement Plate or Sticker (VTR-60) and there will be a small fee. If you are not the vehicle owner you will also need a letter of authorization with the original signature of the title owner. The authorization letter should include the owner's name and who they are given permission to; along with the vehicle information such as: year, make, model, vehicle identification number (VIN), and plate number.
If your plates are damaged or you are only missing one plate, the titled owner should bring in the remaining plate, the registration sticker that is currently on the vehicle, the driver's license, and the last registration receipt. Also, you will need to complete the Application for Replacement License Plate (s) and/or Vehicle Registration Sticker (VTR-60) and pay a small fee.
The Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act prohibits the release of personal information from vehicle records.
Assuming the person registering the vehicle is new to the state and the vehicle is titled in their name in the previous state, then follow the general steps listed under the "New to Texas" page.
"Registration Purposes Only": means that the vehicle is registered, but not titled, in Texas. This type of ownership document may be requested when a vehicle that was registered or titled in another state is subject to registration in Texas but the owner or operator cannot or does not wish to surrender the negotiable out-of-state evidence of ownership in order to obtain a Texas negotiable title.
Vehicle renewal notices are mailed from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles about 30 days before the month of expiration. Some of the reasons people may not receive a renewal notice include change of address and a change in vehicle ownership.