Williamson County does not index by using the legal description as a reference. You must have the name of the grantor or the grantee and a date to obtain information in the real estate records.
Show All Answers
To register your motor vehicle you should go to the Williamson County Tax Office. The Tax Office has four locations:
The birth and death records for Williamson County start in 1903. The marriage records, land records, and probate records start in 1848.
The Williamson County Clerk's Office does not keep records of square footage of a house, but the size of a lot can be obtained from our plat department. Square footage, tax assessments and other information can be obtained from the Williamson Central Appraisal District's website.
Only cities in the county have the power to zone property.
Divorce records are located in the District Clerk's Office, 405 Martin Luther King Boulevard, Georgetown, Texas 78626. The telephone number is 512-943-1212.
The Williamson Central Appraisal District is located at 625 FM 1460, Georgetown, Texas 78626. The telephone number is 512-930-3787 or 888-331-7807.
The County Clerk's office is located in the basement of the Justice Center at 405 MLK, Georgetown, Texas 78626. To contact the County Clerk's office, please call 512-943-1515 from the Austin Metro area.
The County Clerk's office is open every day from 8 am to 4:30 pm. Monday through Friday, except holidays.
Please see this information from the County Engineer.
Please call 512-943-1515 for information on how to obtain a certified copy.
If you wish to apply for a marriage license in Williamson County both applicants should come to the basement of the Justice Center located at 405 MLK Street, Georgetown, TX. Our hours are Monday through Friday, 8 am to 4:30 pm.
We will need proper identification such as a drivers license or passport. We will also ask for social security numbers. Please refer to the fees document for the price of a marriage license. We prefer you bring cash with no bills over $20. No checks, please.
Once you purchase the license you have to wait 72 hours before you can marry unless either of you happen to be on active duty in the military. You have to get married within 90 days of the date that you purchased the license.
The law changed on September 1, 2017 to only allow those 18 years of age or older to be able get a license unless given permission by a District Judge.
In the state of Texas, there is a 30 day waiting period after a divorce is final. We can issue the license on the 31st day from the final date. If the applicants are remarrying each other then it does not apply.
You can purchase your license in any county in Texas and get married in any other county in Texas.
You can look at the Twogether in Texas website to find a location to attend their 8 hour class and qualify for a discount on your marriage license although you still have to pay for local preservation fees. Ours are $12.
If you have any questions, please call 512-943-1515.
Copies of birth and death certificates are confidential under Texas law and do not become public records for seventy-five and twenty-five years respectively, and can only be obtained by qualified applicants before then. Any person or organization that can demonstrate through his or her legal relationship or direct or tangible interest in a particular record may be qualified to obtain a certified copy of the record. To get a certified copy of a birth or death certificate from a Williamson County death or birth, please visit our office in the basement of the Williamson County Justice Center at 405 MLK in Georgetown, Monday through Friday 8 am to 4:30 pm. To expedite your visit, please bring a photo ID, such as your driver's license, and the necessary fees (see the "fees" button at the top of the page). Please note: Failure to provide the purpose in obtaining the record and relationship to the applicant in the request, when the applicant is not the person named on the record, will result in the application being rejected or delayed in processing. Important: We prefer you bring cash although we accept credit/debit cards. No telephone, electronic mail requests or verifications will be accepted. If born outside of Williamson County, please go to the State portal to order and order online.