The Williamson County Tax Office wants to make sure owners of fully electric vehicles are aware of a new state law that will result in different fees due when they go to renew their vehicle registration starting September 1, 2023.
During the 88th Legislative Session, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 505, which adds an additional $200 fee to vehicle registration fees for owners of fully electric vehicles. New electric vehicle owners who purchase an electric vehicle at a Texas dealership will pay a $400 fee for a two-year registration period.
The fees will be deposited into the state highway fund to help pay for roadway construction and maintenance. The highway fund is primarily supported by a 20-cent per gallon tax paid by drivers at the gas pump. The new fee is a way for owners of electric vehicles to share in the cost of roadway construction and maintenance.