Williamson County Environmental violations that occur outside municipalities are investigated by the Constable's office of the precinct that the violation occurs in. Find Your Precinct.
It is illegal to dump items anywhere in the county other than in an approved landfill. Taxpayers in Texas spend significant dollars each year cleaning up illegal dumps to prevent contamination of water, remove the breeding ground for insects and rodents that carry diseases and keep natural areas beautiful. Storing illegal substances is also a crime - not just dumping them. Penalties and fines vary upon the crime.
Texas Health & Safety Code, Section 365
Fines vary from less than $500 to up to $10,000, depending on weight and/or volume of illegal material. Also, jail time may be enforced in some cases from less than 180 days to up to two years.
- Used Oil (Felony), Texas Water Code, Section 7.176
- Pollutant Discharge, Texas Water Code, Section 7.145
- Batteries, Texas Water Code, Section 7.185
- Each day is a separate offense
- Fines vary from $1,000 up to $100,000
- Jail time can be enforced from less than one year to up to five years.
Texas Transportation Code, Section 683
Offenses include inoperable vehicles visible from public right-of-way. Penalties may include a fine up to $200; vehicle may be abated.
For questions about illegal materials or to report illegal dumping, contact the Williamson County Precinct 4 Constables Office at 512-352-4181 or submit an Environmental Complaint.
View the Trash and Recycling Centers.